News Releases

SRI Signs Product License Agreement with Shingo Kunieda,Japan's First Professional Wheelchair Tennis Player

SRI Sports Limited (Head Office: Kobe, Japan; President: Hiroyuki Bamba) and Dunlop Sports Co., Ltd. (Head Office: Tokyo, Japan; President: Takao Mizuno), have signed a product license agreement with wheelchair tennis player Shingo Kunieda. The Company will help support Mr. Kunieda by providing him with tennis equipment including racquets, strings, bags, and sundry items.

Mr. Kunieda first started playing wheelchair tennis when he was 11 years old, joining the international tour circuit when he was 17. In 2007 he became the first player in history to win the Grand Slam1 for men's singles wheelchair tennis, then in 2008 won a gold medal at the Beijing Paralympic Games. In April 2009, he became Japan's first professional wheelchair tennis player. In this year's Japan Open, which started on May 19, he dominated the field to achieve his fourth consecutive victory. Expectations are high for his performance on the world tour, and everyone is encouraged to cheer him on.

Profile of Shingo Kunieda
Birth date: February 21, 1984 (25 years old)
Birth place: Tokyo, Japan
Height: 173cm
Weight: 65kg
Alma mater: Reitaku University
Ranking: ITF wheelchair tennis ranking: Number 1 (as of May 18, 2009)

Racket used: Dunlop Aerogel 4D 300 (sold only in Japan and the United Kingdom)
Strings used: Babolat

Major Tournament Wins (Singles)
2009 French Open (1st place)
Australian Open (1st place)
Japan Open (1st place)
2008 Beijing Paralympics (1st place)
Australian Open (1st place)
Japan Open (1st place)
British Open (1st place)
2007 Australian Open (1st place)
Japan Open (1st place)
British Open (1st place)
U.S. Open (1st place)
First player in history to win men's singles Grand Slam1 for wheelchair tennis

1 Until 2008, winning the wheelchair tennis Grand Slam required 1st-place finishes in the Australian Open, the Japan Open, the British Open, and the U.S. Open, all in the same year. Starting in 2009, the Japan Open has been removed from this list, and the Grand Slam now consists of the Australian Open, the French Open, the British Open, and the U.S. Open.

Go Back Page top